Newfoundland’s Tidy Towns announced

Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the winners of its 2011 Tidy Town competition. Tidy Towns is a program offered to municipalities in Newfoundland and Labrador that “is committed to fostering civic pride, environmental responsibility and beautification through community participation and the challenge of a provincial competition”. Each year Tidy Towns sends out teams of skilled judges who travel to all reaches of Newfoundland and Labrador and visit enthusiastic communities that have registered in the program. The judges base their evaluation on eight criteria: Tidiness Effort, Environmental Effort, Community Involvement, Heritage Preservation, Urban Forestry, Landscaped Areas, Floral Arrangements, Turf and Groundcover Areas.

The 2011 winners are (according to population):

100 to 350, Postville
351 to 500, Steady Brook
501 to 750, Appleton
751 to 400, Arnold’s Cove
1,401 to 2,000, Holyrood
4,001 to 8,000 Bay Roberts
Over 10,000, Corner Brook

Maybe this means Holyrood can update this sign.

Source: VOCM

Get our weekly newsletter for in-depth reporting and analysis delivered straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe from the newsletter at any time. Have a question? Contact us or review our privacy policy for more information.


Sign up for our weekly Indygestion newsletter


Sign up for the Indygestion newsletter

Each Saturday, we'll deliver a recap of all our in-depth reporting and analysis from the week.

Our donors make it possible.

Newfoundland and Labrador’s premiere outlet for progressive ideas is only possible with your support. Will you join us?

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Scroll to Top