New Liberal leader Kevin Aylward sets focus on Fall election

Yvonne Jones introduced Kevin Aylward as the new leader of the provincial Liberal party following a first-ballot win over other candidates.”We’re going to have an interesting time ahead. Fifty, 60 days is a long time in politics,” he said. Aylward was first elected in the district of St. George’s-Stephenville in 1985 and held that seat until 2003 when he decided not to run again. During that time he served in the cabinet of Premiers Clyde Wells, Brian Tobin, and Roger Grimes, heading the Environment and Labour, Forest Resources, and Tourism and Culture ministries. Aylward now plans to run in that same riding against Joan Burke – who has held the seat for the PCs since his retirement.

Source: CBC

Get our weekly newsletter for in-depth reporting and analysis delivered straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe from the newsletter at any time. Have a question? Contact us or review our privacy policy for more information.


Sign up for our weekly Indygestion newsletter


Sign up for the Indygestion newsletter

Each Saturday, we'll deliver a recap of all our in-depth reporting and analysis from the week.

Our donors make it possible.

Newfoundland and Labrador’s premiere outlet for progressive ideas is only possible with your support. Will you join us?

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Scroll to Top