New Liberal leader Kevin Aylward sets focus on Fall election

Yvonne Jones introduced Kevin Aylward as the new leader of the provincial Liberal party following a first-ballot win over other candidates.”We’re going to have an interesting time ahead. Fifty, 60 days is a long time in politics,” he said. Aylward was first elected in the district of St. George’s-Stephenville in 1985 and held that seat until 2003 when he decided not to run again. During that time he served in the cabinet of Premiers Clyde Wells, Brian Tobin, and Roger Grimes, heading the Environment and Labour, Forest Resources, and Tourism and Culture ministries. Aylward now plans to run in that same riding against Joan Burke – who has held the seat for the PCs since his retirement.

Source: CBC

Our goal is to raise $15,000 before the end of the year to solidify our plans for 2023. We need your support to keep producing this progressive, explanatory, and unique local journalism.


Want more of The Independent?

You can make it happen.

More in-depth explainers. More community news.

Will you help us raise $15,000 for our investigative journalism, witty commentary, and cutting analysis of Newfoundland and Labrador issues?

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Scroll to Top